[IELTS-Writing] letter to friends

Last month you had a holiday overseas where you stayed with some friends. They have just sent you some photos of your holiday.

Write a letter to your friends. In your letter:

  • Thank them for the photos and for the holiday
  • Explain why you didn’t write earlier
  • Invite them to come and stay with you

Write at least 150 words.

You do NOT need to write any addresses.

Begin your letter as follows:

Dear ……

Answer:

thanks:

why: the apology; after China, I did visit Lhasa and Bhutan it took 3 weeks, just came back VN about 1 week => flood with works.

invite: spare room

Dear Ming and Fang,

I’ve just received your letter yesterday. Thank you both for all the beautiful photos. Each of them reminds the great time we had in Guangzhou with your family. I miss everyone’s faces and smiles. 

I’m really sorry that I didn’t write to you sooner. I have just come back home last 2 days and still have been unpacking my luggage.  After my stay in Guangzhou, I visited Lhasa and Nepal also. The distance between places is far and all of them don’t have mailing service or internet so I couldn’t write any letter.

Since I still have one month left till the beginning of next semester, I would love to invite you to visit Vietnam. You two can stay in the room next to mine or share my room if you love to. I’m eager to show you beautiful places and buildings in our country. 

I look forward to hearing your response.

Warm regards,

Vien Mai

Word count: 160

 

Leave a comment